Vendor Spotlight: Kimtasha Armstrong

VENDOR SPOTLIGHT
Kimtasha K. Armstrong
Your name: Kimtasha K. Armstrong

Company name: Kimtasha – pro make-up artist
Website: http://www.kimtasha.com
Years in business: 14 years as a professional make-up artist, and 6 years of having my own make-up business.

How did I get started? I started my make-up career with M.A.C cosmetics in Maui, Hawaii in 1997. I didn’t have much make-up experience in the beginning but I always had a love for fashion and art, and make-up is the perfect blend of those two industries. I fell into the make-up artistry world, and I’ve been excited about it ever since.

Best advice you can give to a bride: My skincare advice is to take care of your skin and eat healthy. It’s important to wash your face daily to remove make-up and dirt from your pores, and moisturizing your skin is equally as important for preparing your skin for a smooth make-up application. Also, If you have a healthy eating lifestyle, it will show in your skin. My make-up advice for the wedding day is less make-up is more! Have a look created that looks like you with your features complimented.

What has been your strangest request? The bride wanted to have big false eye lashes placed as bottom eyelashes. I talked her out of them 🙂

Do you work with an assistant? Sometimes, I hire an assistant when I have big wedding parties, and the client has a short timeframe to get ready on the wedding day.

What would you say is your style? I really don’t have a particular style of make-up. Everyone is different and has unique features, and I focus on the art of make-up application to enhance each person’s beauty. On some people, I may play up the eyes and apply false lashes and on other clients, I may create a stronger lip and do less on the eyes.

Who is the person you most admire? The person I most admire professionally is Pat McGrath. She is a tremendously amazing and talented internationally known make-up artist! I would love to work with her one day!

Who is the person that inspired you? Earlier in my career, I was inspired by the late Kevyn Aucoin… a celebrity make-up artist whose work was truly incredible. When I first started my make-up career, I purchased all of his make-up books and they helped me understand the true transformation and beauty of make-up artistry. Sam Fine was another celebrity make-up artist who inspired me. I was fortunate enough to assist him once during a make-up class in Atlanta, GA. He taught me how to master the art of blending different colors and foundations.

What is your proudest moment in your business? My proudest moment in my business is when a client loves her make-up so much that her eyes fill with tears of joy! My passion is to create a look that makes someone feel and look as beautiful outside as they are inside.

Below are some of my acknowledgements:
2011 The Knot Best of Weddings
2011 WeddingWire Bride’s Choice
2010 WeddingWire Bride’s Choice
2009 Best of Jax Make-up Artist

My work has been featured in:

Jacksonville Magazine

Jacksonville Luxury Living Magazine

Greater Jacksonville Wedding & Reception Services Magazine

Kimtasha’s bio.

Weddings Print Film

Combine a love of beauty, the art of transformation with professional training and over thirteen years experience and the result is Kimtasha, pro make-up artist. Armed with an extensive array of tools and products for all skin tones and types, Kimtasha can be relied upon to bring creativity and versatility of range working locally or traveling to meet client needs in tv commercials, print work, to hundreds of brides. Beginning her career with M.A.C Cosmetics, her expertise has afforded her the privilege of working with actress Garcelle Beauvais-Nilon, to assisting celebrity make-up artist Sam Fine. Whether it’s make-up with an edge, pure glamour or simply enhancing the subtle glow of a bride, the mission is the same….to capture beauty with the stoke of a brush.

Leave a Reply

