Vendor Spotlight: Calligraphy by Cami

Vendor Spotlight: Calligraphy By Cami

Your name? Cami Franklin

Company Name: Calligraphy by Cami

Website http://www.CalligraphybyCami.com

Blog http://www.addingapersonaltouch.blogspot.com

Years in Business 5 1/2

How did you get started? My mother took a Calligraphy class when I was young and she taught me how to do it when I was 12. I used it as a hobby for years. I addressed my own wedding invitations, did it as gifts, etc. During a time that our family was struggling financially, a friend asked me to address her son’s wedding invitations and she insisted on paying me for them. She told me to get online and research what other Calligraphers were charging. I did and quickly realized that I too, could start a business like that! I got some business cards, built a website – began talking to people around town and within a month I was up and running! I have not stopped writing since! I am constantly amazed at how it has turned into a successful business.

Best advice you can give to a bride: Think about Calligraphy in the beginning of your planning process. Work it into your invitation budget. You spend a great deal of time picking out that perfect invitation that reflects you and your style. It is the first impression that your guest receive about your wedding and you want to make sure that it’s a good one. You don’t want less than impressive envelopes. Book your Calligrapher early to guarantee that you will have it done in a timely manner. I can’t tell you how many brides make it an after thought. They decide they want it done after their invitations are back from the printer. Then, time is short, and I typically have to turn them away because it is not humanly possible to fit them into my already full calendar.

Invitations need to be mailed to your guests 6 – 8 weeks before the wedding. This means, your list should be done and your invitations ordered and to the Calligrapher 10 – 12 weeks before the wedding. This allows enough time for them to be addressed, for you to check them, have any errors corrected, get them stuffed, stamped and in the mail. The more time you give yourself and the Calligrapher, the less stressful it will be on all parties.

What has been your strangest request? To write on a leather bound Bible. I have written inside of bibles, but never on the outside. I leave that to the professional book binders.

Do you work with an assistant? No – Unless you include my husband who acts as a courier for me on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

