Meet Katrina!

Your name?  Katrina McCullum



Company Name: Made of Honor Weddings


Website: www,madeofhonorweddings.com


Blog: Your reading it…lol


Years in Business: 7;  5 in Jacksonville


How did you get started? Well honestly, in exchange for babysitting.  I had two small kids and weird work hours. My neighbor made silk flowers for weddings, so in exchange for babysitting, I would help her with flowers and help her set up at weddings. I have always loved organizing parties and events. After assisting several  friends with their actual wedding plans and coordinating, it finally dawned on me that I could make a business out of it. I originally wanted to target “Theme” weddings. Medieval and Renaissance weddings to be precise. This is how I came up with my business name.


Best advice you can give to a bride- Hire professionals and enjoy your day. I am not saying break the bank, but find the best professional for your budget.  There aren’t  any do overs for your wedding day and you don’t want to look back and have regrets.



What has been your strangest request? I haven’t had one. I try to make all my brides visions come true…with in reason. I haven’t had anything outrageous…yet.


Do you work with an assistant? I always have one to two assistants for the ceremony and reception and I have 4 to 5 people for set up.


What would you say is your style? Modern, elegant, I am definitely not a traditional type of girl. I love to think outside of the box and go outside the norm. The one thing I don’t like about trends is everyone is doing them. After the first two or three you are ready for something else but you have to wait until the next year. I encourage my brides to do it their way but sometimes…its the trend. LOL.



Who is the person you most admire? I don’t admire just one. The women in my family are strong, driven and outstanding women. I learn from the good and the bad.


Who is the person that inspired you? I would have to say my sister. We inspire one another and push each other to reach our goals. She is my best friend.


What is your proudest moment in your business? I organized a major wedding contest. We gave away a $25,000 wedding. Although it didn’t get the all the press I was seeking. I still made it happen., when people doubted me.  To see your vision grow into something very real is an exhilarating feeling. Each vendor donated their amazing services to bless a couple and every time that couple thinks of their wedding, or looks a photograph or their video they think back to all the vendors that made it possible.

My favorite ice cream is vanilla, you can enjoy it plain or mix it with anything to create something new. I love my family. My favorite color is sage (green). I love the beach, especially at night. I grew up in Southern California, so I am a west coast girl at heart. My children are my life and when I think of them moving out on their own… I cry. My favorite type of food is Italian. My favorite type of dog is the Siberian Husky…such a beautiful creature. I used to think I was tall until my children grew taller…now I feel really short. I love to play the SIMS game.  I am a sucker for chocolate. I love cartoons…the old ones anyway.My absolute favorite is Scooby Doo.  I am not afraid to go to dinner or a movie by myself. I hate shopping for myself. I want to visit Egypt on day. I love ancient Egypt and some of my decor in my house reflects that. I am honest, too honest at times. I have a guitar but I have yet to learn to play it. I love to laugh. I love to read, fantasy and sci-fi are my favorites. I talk to the movies like they can hear me. I cry on happy endings and love stories. I try to find the best in people. This is me in a nutshell.

Leave a Reply

