Vendor Spotlight: Kakes By Katie


Your name: Katie Dixon

Company Name: Kakes by Katie

Website: http://www.kakesbykatie.com/

Years in Business: 5

How did you get started? Worked for local supermarket where I found I had a knack for decorating cakes! Decided to start my own business so I gave my two weeks notice and never looked back 

Best advice you can give to a bride: breathe

What has been your strangest request? Haven’t had anything to crazy yet!!

Do you work with an assistant? No, it’s just me

What would you say is your style? Funky

Who is the person you most admire? Anyone who owns their own home based business, It’s very hard work and even harder to get people to understand that even though you work from home, YOU DO WORK!!

Who is the person that inspired you? Myself

What is your proudest moment in your business? To win the “most technically superb” cake at the MOCA takes the cake competition.

I would like to thank all the family and friends who have supported me over the years. Even though there have been some struggles and tough times with the economy I have been able to keep doing what I love and be my own boss! I would also like to thank all my brides for letting me a small part of their special day! I feel very blessed to be able to do what I love and still have time for my family.

To all the haters and nay Sayers, SHAME ON YOU!

Leave a Reply

